Sourav Ganguly aka ‘ The Bengal Tiger’ who is the sitting President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, celebrates his 48th birthday on July 08.

Affectionately known as ‘Dada’,  Ganguly is the only ODI player to have won four consecutive Man-of-the-Match awards. Notably, his average never dipped below 40. If we look at Dada’s away Test and ODI records, he led the ODI team to 24 wins out of the 51 away games, lost in the same number of matches and tied/no result in 3. In Test cricket went on to become the third-highest run-scorer for India with 18,575 international runs. He is the 12th highest run-scorer of all time in international cricket history.

Still more than his play, his leadership is praised of. Ganguly’s rise came at the lowest time for Indian cricket. He took the reins of the Indian team and restored the faith and love for the game as well as the players. Credit with assembling new Indian team, he remains to be the most loving captain. Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Virender Sehwag, and MS Dhoni are some of the players who were given their first international game by Sourav Ganguly.

Under Ganguly, the ‘Men in Blue’ played 146 ODI matches. They won 76 matches, and lost 65 matches, while 5 matches went into a no result. Dada’s ODI’s win percentage was at 53.90. He also guided the team in the white jersey to 21 wins, of the 49 matches he led. His Test side lost 13 and tied/drew 15 matches, making his Test win percentage 42.85.

The shirt-swirling celebration of Sourav Ganguly at the Lord’s balcony after India won the Natwest Series in 2002 has become a part of Indian cricketing folklore

He is acclaimed to be ‘God of offside’. Sourav  wasn’t among the most powerful players on the cricket field but his timing made him clear even the biggest of boundaries with ease. Till this day, whenever cricket fans engage in a debate over ‘who is the best player on the offside’, the quote of Rahul Dravid, “On the offside, first there is God, then Sourav Ganguly”, rushes through the brains of cricket enthusiasts and the debate gets settled then and there.

After many stints in commentary post-retirement, Ganguly entered cricket administration and became the president of the Cricket Association of Bengal in 2015. He served the board for four years, before becoming the president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) last year in October.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here